Office of Legal Counsel

Staff Directory

kim taylor

kim taylor

Vice President and General Counsel

Kim Taylor joined the University in August 2014 as Vice President and General Counsel. In this role, she leads the legal team that advises and represents all units of the University.

Learn more about Kim Taylor

Attorneys

Russell Herron

Russell Herron

Senior Associate General Counsel

Russell Herron joined the Office of Legal Counsel in 2001.  His primary areas of practice include corporate law and governance and transactional matters.  

773-702-7241
rherron@uchicago.edu

Marc Klein

Marc Klein

Assistant General Counsel

Marc Klein joined the Office of Legal Counsel in 2019 as Assistant General Counsel and advises the University on litigation, employment, and student matters.

773-702-5799
mbklein@uchicago.edu

Cynthia Okechukwu

Cynthia Okechukwu

Assistant General Counsel

Cynthia Okechukwu is an Assistant General Counsel who joined the office in 2019. Her primary areas of practice include corporate, transactional, and tax matters.

773-702-0988
cokechukwu@uchicago.edu

Stefan Quick

Stefan Quick

Associate General Counsel

Stefan H. Quick is an Associate General Counsel who joined the office in 2012. His primary areas of practice include technology transfer, intellectual property, data privacy and data security, and research related matters.

773-702-0923
quick@uchicago.edu

Robert Rush

Robert Rush

Associate General Counsel

Robert Rush returned to the University as Associate General Counsel in 2016 after serving as Associate General Counsel for the Solomon R. Guggenheim Foundation and Museums.  His primary areas of practice relate to commercial real estate, corporate law and governance, civic engagement, art and museum law, and commercial transactions.

773-702-1976
rhrush@uchicago.edu

Elizabeth Shanin

Elizabeth Shanin

Senior Associate General Counsel

Elizabeth L. Shanin is a Senior Associate General Counsel who joined the Office of Legal Counsel in 2007. She provides counsel in areas including litigation, compliance, design and construction law, and student matters.

773-702-0820
eshanin@uchicago.edu

Smita Singh

Smita Singh

Associate General Counsel

Smita Singh joined the Office of Legal Counsel in 2015. Her primary areas of practice are corporate and international matters, research and employee benefits.

773-702-7239
smitasingh@uchicago.edu

Theodore Stamatakos

Theodore Stamatakos

Senior Associate General Counsel

Theodore Stamatakos has been with the Office of Legal Counsel since 2004. He works primarily in the areas of labor and employment law, litigation, student life, security matters, and risk management.

773-702-7516
stamatak@uchicago.edu

Ellen Wetmore

Ellen Wetmore

Associate General Counsel

Ellen Wetmore joined the Office of Legal Counsel in 2015. Her primary areas of practice include litigation, employment, and student matters.

773-702-5839
ewetmore@uchicago.edu

Administrative Professionals

Tambra Black
Paralegal/Budget Administrator
773-702-7237
tb15@uchicago.edu

Michele Kogut
Executive Assistant to Kim Taylor, Vice President and General Counsel
773-795-3530
kogutm@uchicago.edu

LeeAnn Bartolomei
Assistant to:
Liz Shanin
Stefan Quick
Smita Singh
Marc Klein
773-702-8873
lbartolomei@uchicago.edu

Cathy Jacobson
Assistant to:
Russ Herron
Ted Stamatakos
Rob Rush
Ellen Wetmore
Cynthia Okechukwu
773-795-1641
cathy123@uchicago.edu